

Macomb County Board of Commissioners

One South Main Street, 9th Floor Mount Clemens, Michigan 48043 (586) 469-5125; bocadmin@macombgov.org bocmacomb.org

"One Team - One Mission"

Macomb County Casual Day Program

Eligibility Criteria

- 1. Charities requesting consideration for casual day funds must be a registered non-profit 501(c)(3).
- 2. Macomb County government internal programs shall be exempt from the 501(c)(3) requirement.
- 3. Charities do not need to be located in Macomb County, but must serve Macomb County residents.

Program Guidelines

- 1. Macomb County government internal programs will receive priority over "outside requests" for program participation. If more requests are received than there are spots available, a lottery will be held.
- 2. There shall be no limit on the number of times a charity/Macomb County internal program may apply to be a recipient of casual day funds. However, no charity/Macomb County internal program shall be chosen to receive casual day funds more than once in a calendar year.
- 3. A charity may request consideration for casual day funds by submitting a written request to the Board of Commissioners. The written request must also include a current 501(c)(3) certificate and solicitation license from the State Attorney General's Office.
- 4. If more requests from charities are received than there are spots available, a lottery will be held.
- 5. Requests for "special casual days" (including for county employees) will no longer be considered nor approved.
- 6. Each month of the calendar year that contains four Fridays shall be assigned a charity/Macomb County internal program that will receive the funds collected on those Fridays.
- 7. A fifth Friday occurring in a given month shall be deemed a "Special Casual Day." Charities/Macomb County internal programs selected to receive funds on a "Special Casual Day" will receive funds collected on that day only.
- 8. If a Friday is designated as a County holiday, the casual day shall be held the first scheduled work day preceding the holiday Friday.

Don Brown, Board Chair		Harold L. Haugh, Vice Cha	•	Barbara Zinner, Sergeant-At-Arms	
District 07		District 11		District 10	
District 01 – Michelle Nard	District 02 – Mai Xiong	District 03 – Veronica Klinefelt	District 04 – Joseph V. Romano	District 05 – Donald VanSyckel	
District 06 – Jeff Farrington	District 08 – Phil Kraft	District 09 – Antoinette Wallace	District 12 – Julie Matuzak	District 13 – Joe Sabatini	

Adopted by the Full Board of Commissioners on October 9, 2022