

Macomb County Board of Commissioners OLDER ADULT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

One South Main Street, 9th Floor Mount Clemens, Michigan 48043 (586) 469-5125; bocadmin@macombgov.org bocmacomb.org

2024 First Quarter Report

Meetings

- 3 total January, February, March
- Members in attendance for the January meeting held informal discussion on agenda items due to lack of a quorum
 - Agenda items forwarded to the February 27, 2024 meeting
- Meetings held at the Macomb County Administration Building
- Improved discussion and participation during meetings by moving the meeting room location to a smaller room setup

Highlights

- Reviewed and discussed Macomb County Board of Commissioners Resolution No. 17-500: Resolution Establishing Macomb County Older Adult Advisory Committee (amended through Resolution R18-1477 adopted April 25, 2018)
 - Discussed purpose and function of the OAAC
 - Discussed ideas for yearly goals
 - Suggested presentation ideas to help meet purpose/function/goals
- Created OAAC Mission Statement (pending adoption)
- Adopted an Action Item Tracker for tracking the progress of items under consideration

Committee Function

- Relative to its function, as stated in Resolution 17-500, 3.A.2, the OAAC:
 - Received information from Macomb Organization for Retiree Enrichment (MORE) regarding opportunities for seniors
 - MORE is a lifelong learning initiative of Macomb Community college which offers noncredit courses dedicated to enhancing senior lifestyles
 - Provides focus areas for free time
 - Offers intellectual stimulation through classes that provide education and/or entertainment
 - Options for those out of town or homebound
 - Easily accessible opportunities for group outings
 - Social networking

Commissioner Barbara Zinner - Older Adult Advisory Committee Chair

District 1 – Tom Matthews District 2 – Vacant District 3 – Philip Randazzo District 4 – Kathy Western District 5 – Barbara VanSyckel District 6 – Moira Smith District 7 – Marcia Relyea District 8 – Joe Silbernagel District 9 – Jennifer Hammel District 10 – Carol Weidenbach District 11 – Carole Wiseman District 12 – Suzanne Ostosh District 13 – Betty Bishop At-Large – Rochelle Fuqua At-Large – Vito Pianello At-Large – Carol Thompson At-Large – Vacant