

# Macomb County Board of Commissioners OLDER ADULT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

One South Main Street, 9th Floor Mount Clemens, Michigan 48043 (586) 469-5125; bocadmin@macombgov.org bocmacomb.org

## **2024 Second Quarter Report**

## Meetings

- 3 total meetings April, May, June
- Members also attended a special livestream viewing and discussion of the Older Michiganian's
   Day Event held in Lansing by the Area Agencies on Aging
  - This advocacy event helped to spotlight critical areas impacting older adults in Michigan while expanding on the proposed Platform for Legislative Action for FY 2024-2025
- Meetings held at the Macomb County Administration Building

## Highlights

- Created and adopted a Mission Statement for the OAAC
- Selected Senior Volunteer of the Year, Dick Grabowski, from 13 exceptional volunteer nominations
- Welcomed new At-Large member
  - Kathleen Rubino (St. Clair Shores) was appointed at the April 18, 2024 Full Board meeting by Board Chair Don Brown
- Created an Action Item Tracker for follow up and tracking purposes
  - Updated monthly as a regular committee item
- Received monthly updates from the Board of Commissioners, per Resolution 17-500, 3.D.
- Received OAAC brochures updated brochures reflecting recent changes are currently in production
- Members participated in Yoga At the Hill

### Committee Function

- Relative to its function, as stated in Resolution 17-500, 3.A.2, the OAAC:
  - Received information from the Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA) regarding senior programming opportunities including group self-guided visits and docent-led tours, free group transportation, Melodies at the Museum and Behind the Seen
    - The Committee is planning a group bus trip which will allow members to spread awareness of these opportunities

District 13 – Betty Bishop

At-Large – Rochelle Fuqua

At-Large - Kathleen Rubino

At-Large – Carol Thompson

At-Large - Vito Pianello

 Received statistical data regarding Macomb County demographics, specific to the senior population, from the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG)

#### Commissioner Barbara Zinner - Older Adult Advisory Committee Chair

District 1 – Tom Matthews

District 2 – Vacant

District 3 – Philip Randazzo

District 4 – Kathy Western

District 5 – Barbara VanSyckel

District 6 – Moira Smith

District 12 – Marcia Relyea

District 8 – Joe Silbernagel

District 9 – Jennifer Hammel

District 10 – Carol Weidenbach

District 11 – Carole Wiseman

District 12 – Suzanne Ostosh