

Macomb County Board of Commissioners OLDER ADULT ADVISORY COMMITTEE

One South Main Street, 9th Floor Mount Clemens, Michigan 48043 (586) 469-5125; bocadmin@macombgov.org bocmacomb.org

2025 First Quarter Report

Meetings

- 3 meetings total January, February, March
 - 2 meetings held at the Macomb County Administration Building in the BOC Conference Room
 - \circ $\,$ 1 meeting held at the Clinton Township Senior Center $\,$
 - Increased public participation
- Increased commissioner attendance at all meetings

Highlights

- Adopted the 2025 meeting schedule to include 3 offsite meetings at senior centers throughout Macomb County
 - o March Clinton Township
 - June TBD
 - October TBD
- Received updates from the Social Isolation Study Subcommittee which led to in-depth discussions on the study's objective, methods, questions and means of distribution
- Created the District Reports from Members section as a standing discussion section on all agendas in order to regularly share information and events happening in members' districts

Committee Function

- Relative to its function, as stated in Resolution 17-500, 3.A.1, to review and be aware of local agencies, their programs, and impact on older adults, the OAAC:
 - Gained knowledge of opportunities, programs and events available for seniors offered through the Clinton Township Senior Center
- Relative to its function, as stated in Resolution 17-500, 3.A.2, the OAAC learned about challenges, trends, concerns and opportunities affecting older adults in the County including:
 - Received study results and supporting data from the Wayne State University Institute of Gerontology regarding addressing isolation and loneliness in the aging population
 - o Received information from the Detroit Zoo regarding senior programming and events

Commissioner Barbara Zinner - Older Adult Advisory Committee Chair Commissioner James M. Perna – Older Adult Advisory Committee Vice Chair

District 1 – Tom Matthews District 2 – Vacant District 3 – Philip Randazzo District 4 – Kathy Western District 5 – Barbara VanSyckel District 6 – Moira Smith District 7 – Marcia Relyea District 8 – Joe Silbernagel District 9 – Jennifer Hammel District 10 – Carol Weidenbach District 11 – Carole Wiseman District 12 – Suzanne Ostosh

District 13 – Betty Bishop At-Large – Rochelle Fuqua At-Large – Vito Pianello At-Large – Kathleen Rubino At-Large – Carol Thompson